Manual Therapy of the Wrist and Hand: Mechanisms of Action, Techniques and Dosage- Webinar

Date: 08/30/18- 08/31/18

Time: 5:00 PM PT / 6:00 PM MT / 7:00 PM CT / 8:00 PM ET

Discipline(s): OT PT

Subject: Hand & Upper Extremity

Seminar Sponsor: American Society of Hand Therapists

Phone Number: 2065258468

Contact Email: ASHT@asht.org

Website/Register: Click Here

Presented by: Michael Staino, OT, CHT, COMT

Format: 45 minutes presentation, 15 minutes Q&A

Description:  
The program consists of a 30-minute review of the proposed mechanisms of actions by which manual therapy application and exercise affect joint mobility and restoration of motor control. It includes how manual therapy and exercise influence joint mobility (considering the convex/concave properties), the changes in fluid dynamics and neurophysiological mechanism (mechanoreceptors) response and histological influences impacting muscle guarding, motor control and stiffness. It also includes the indications and contraindications to assist with tissue assessment. Once the principles are introduced, there will be accompanying video with auditory explanation of hand placement, dosage and joint mobilization grades component to reinforce learning utilizing a case study format. We will focus on radiocarpal, digit MCP and IP joint and thumb CMC joint mobilizations. Evidence-based dosage, application and exercise principles will be introduced during the video portions to enhance learning and foster further discussion. To supplement this webinar, numerous video links are provided to the attendees to reinforce their learning when they get back to the clinic.                                         

Learning Objectives:
At the end of the presentation, participants will be able to:

  1. Identify the primary biomechanical and neurophysiological consequences of manual therapy application
  2. Identify common indications for manual therapy application
  3. Identify common absolute and relative contraindications that may make manual therapy application inappropriate
  4. Identify the impact of capsuloligamentous restraints on manual therapy techniques for wrist, hand and digits
  5. Identify the osteokinematic and arthokinematic components of the wrist, hand and digit joints

Attendees earn 1 continuing education hour/0.1 CEU for this webinar.

Registration Fee:
Members: $35
Student Members: $20
Non-Members: $55
Student Non-Members: $30

 

Click here for more Hand and UE continuing education courses.